Publish Date

2022 FTCC Athletics Banquet
FTCC hosts the Theo Awards on April 20, 2022 at the Tony Rand Student Center. (Photos by Brad Losh)
« of 23 »

Last Friday night, April 29, FTCC Athletics held the first annual Theo Awards for all student-athletes. The athletes were treated like royalty making their way down the red carpet and being interviewed about their season before making the way to their seats for the athletic banquet to begin.

Many awards and thank you’s were given throughout the evening to students, athletes, faculty and staff. All award winners were called to the podium to receive their award and take a picture with athletic director, Dr. Shannon Yates, after acknowledgements about their accomplishments were given.

The first Theo award presented was for a player or players of each athletic team with the highest cumulative GPA from the spring 2021 and fall 2022 semesters.

Individual GPA:

  • Volleyball: Lauren Adams, Taylor Melvin, Sonjai Guiles
  • Women’s Basketball: Lyanah Molyneaux
  • Men’s Basketball: Michael Okoye
  • Softball: Chelsey Wilkes
  • Baseball: Tanner Sweatt, Riley Caudle

The second Theo award of the evening was presented to the athletic team with the highest averaged team GPA.

            Team GPA: Baseball with a 3.15 GPA

An MVP award was given to a member of each athletic team that was nominated by each coach. The MVP award is awarded to the student-athlete on each team that has shown leadership, growth and comradery within their team and had success athletically during the regular season.


  • Lauren Adams, Volleyball
  • Madeline Smith, Women’s Basketball
  • George Jones, Jr, Men’s Basketball
  • Hailey Pait, Softball
  • Reece Woody, Baseball

Coach of the Year award was voted on by all coaches and athletic administration staff. The categories voted on to determine the winner for this award were the overall outcome of their team’s success for the 2021-2022 season, attitude, and dedication to FTCC Athletics.

            Coach of the Year: Coach Brian Hurd, Men’s Basketball

The Fearless Theo is an award given to one student-athlete that has shown grit, toughness, drive and fearlessness throughout their season on and off the court.

            Fearless Theo: Madeline Smith, Women’s Basketball

The Staff Member of the Year is voted on by coaches and staff members that they saw go above and beyond this past year for the coaches, athletes and FTCC Athletics.

            Staff Member of the Year: Larry Howell, Bus driver

The Trojan Sword is an award received by a gladiator who achieved earning his freedom and retirement. It represents the strong resilient students here at FTCC. The Sword is given to one male and one female athlete.

            Trojan Sword:

  • Sonjai Guiles, Volleyball
  • Aaron Potter, Men’s Basketball

The Athletic Directors award is awarded to one male and one female student-athlete chosen by the athletic director who represents the Trojan way in their life and in athletics.

            Athletic Directors Award:

  • Kylie Reswik, Softball
  • George Jones, Jr, Men’s Basketball

Dr. Larry Keen is a major supporter of the FTCC Athletic programs. He was key in the establishment of our sports programs and has continued to help the athletic programs grow and prosper. The Keen award is rewarded to one male and one female athlete that has proven themselves from this season on their team and in the community.

            Keen Award:

  • Morgan Brady, Volleyball & Women’s Basketball
  • Reece Woody, Baseball

It was a great night celebrating with all the student-athletes of the 2021-22 school year and there were so many accomplishments to celebrate. A slideshow of the event will be attached with pictures of the banquet.