Publish Date

Fayetteville, NC – August 22, 2019:  Fayetteville Technical Community College has been named recipient of the 2019 Academic Innovator of the Year Award by EC-Council, an organization committed to expanding Cybersecurity career paths in higher education.  EC-Council will present the award to FTCC at the 2019 Partner Awards held in Atlanta, Georgia, on October 9.    

EC-Council has established North America partner awards to highlight the highest levels of education, training, executive leadership, and instruction within academia partner communities.  EC-Council’s partner communities include academic institutions, commercial training centers, corporate organizations, CISO’s, and Certified EC-Council instructors (CEIs).  EC-Council (who has over 1,000 academic partners from K-12, technical institutes, and colleges and universities in North America) selects one award recipient for the category of Academic Innovator of the Year.  More information is available at     

Fayetteville Technical Community College’s Cyber Defense Education Center is designated as a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Two-year Education by the National Security Agency and the Department of Homeland Security.  Chris Herring ( serves as the department chair of Fayetteville Tech’s Systems Security & Analysis programs of study, which lead to the award of associate of applied science as well as certificates in the following areas:   Programming, CISCO Entry Networking, CISCO Networking, Computer Technologies, Cyber Crime Analysis, Cyber Crime Fundamentals, Cyber Security Operations, Data Analysis Using SAS, Database Programming, Digital Animation, Digital Media Basics, Hardware & Software, Information Technology Basics, Intro to iOS Development using Swift, JAVA Programming, LINUX, Microsoft Desktop Support, Microsoft Networking, Microsoft Office Specialist Excel & Access, Mobile Application Development, Mobile Design, Mobile & Web Basics, Network Defense Specialist, Python Programming, Social Media, Visual Basic Programming, Web Management, and Wireless Networking Security.  Tenette Prevatte serves as dean overseeing Computer Information Technology at FTCC.   

Fayetteville Technical Community College was established in 1961 and serves over 35,000 students annually by providing over 280 occupational, technical, general education, college transfer, and continuing education programs to meet students’ needs and desires as well as the community. Visit FTCC’s website at  Like us on Facebook / Follow us on Twitter @faytechcc.