Publish Date

Fayetteville Technical Community College President Dr. Mark Sorrells was honored by the NC TECH Association Wednesday night as its Tech Difference Maker of the Year.

2023 Nc Tech Awards Ftcc Dr Mark Sorrells1

Dr. Sorrells accepts the Tech Difference Maker of the Year Award.

At NC TECH’s annual awards gala in Raleigh, Sorrells was recognized for his work as FTCC President, which includes his role in helping to found and launch the Carolina Cyber Network. CCN is a collaborative workforce development initiative through which select cybersecurity educational institutions in North Carolina are working together to meet the growing talent needs of the state’s public agencies and private businesses. 

“Our job is to put a talent development pipeline out there to help secure the interests of our public and private companies across the state,” Sorrells said in accepting the award.

FTCC and the Carolina Cyber Center of Montreat College, both of which hold designations as Centers of Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity Education by the National Security Agency and Department of Homeland Security, joined to establish CCN. Since then, 16 other higher education institutions in North Carolina have joined the initiative.

Sorrells recently delivered a presentation on CCN and North Carolina’s innovation in cyber education at the National Cybersecurity Education Colloquium in Illinois.

Fayetteville Technical Community College is the third largest community college in North Carolina and offers a wide range of high-quality, affordable educational programs for learners of all ages and backgrounds.  For more information about FTCC, please visit

For more information about CCN, please visit

NC TECH is the statewide industry group for North Carolina’s technology sector. For more information about NC TECH, please visit