Publish Date

FAYETTEVILLE, NC – April 21, 2017 – Fayetteville Technical Community College (FTCC) announced today that it held its first Athletic Banquet on April 20 to honor student-athletes and celebrate its first year of intercollegiate athletic completion in over 40 years. The banquet was held at the Fayetteville campus in the Culinary Dining Room with FTCC’s Culinary Arts students preparing the meal.

FTCC President Dr. Larry Keen addressed the students, staff, family members, and guests, highlighting the pioneer efforts of the teams in establishing a new athletic program and taking FTCC to a place not ventured for quite some time. FTCC Board of Trustees Chair Charles Koonce also addressed the attendees, encouraging the student-athletes to continue their academic and athletic effort and strive to do better and more.

Athletic Director Mike Neal thanked all the coaches, FTCC staff, and students who were instrumental in making the first year a success. Neal added that more athletic opportunities are planned for FTCC and remarked on the season’s annual highlights including the Men’s Basketball win over UNC-Chapel Hill JV, the Men’s head-to-head Golf Defeat of NCAA Member La Roche College, the Women’s Golf win at the Fall Cougar Classic including Low Medalist Lora Walters, and the Men’s Golf Win at the Spring Cougar Classic.

Congratulations to the following athletes who received awards presented by their coaches during the athletic banquet:

In the area of Women’s Basketball, presented by Coach Eric Tucker:
– Outstanding Freshman: Amarilis Floyd
– Outstanding Sophomore: Monet Turnipseed
– Trojan of the Year: Aundraya Doyle
– Most Valuable Player: Kylah Saylon

In the area of Men’s Basketball, presented by Coach Brian Hurd:
– Outstanding Freshman: Trevor Lewis
– Outstanding Sophomore: Cameron Grigsby
– Trojan of the Year: Jonathan Henderson
– Most Valuable Player: Kenny Walters

In the area of Women’s Golf, presented by Coach John Michael Cole:
– Outstanding Freshman: Haley Johnson
– Trojan of the Year: Kimberly Beamer
– Most Outstanding Golfer: Lora Walters

In the area of Men’s Golf, presented by Coach John Michael Cole:
– Trojan of the Year: Andrew Harmon
– Most Valuable Golfer: Tyler Fox

Congratulations to members of the Academic Team, Kimberly Beamer, Lora Walters, Jonathan Henderson, Kehlo Chavis, and Andrew Harmon. Tyler Fox was named Scholar Athlete, and Golf Coach John Michael Cole was named Coach of the Year.

Fayetteville Technical Community College was established in 1961 and serves over 40,000 students annually by providing over 200 occupational, technical, general education, college transfer, and continuing education programs to meet students’ needs and desires as well as the community. Visit FTCC’s website at Like us on Facebook / Follow us on Twitter @faytechcc.